4 Ways Reading 52 Books a Year Changed My Life

Reading is the cheapest, most effective and accessible self-improvement hack available

Michael Lim
The Open Bookshelf
Published in
5 min readJan 3, 2021

--

Photo by César Viteri on Unsplash

What if I told you that you could change your life by investing only 30 minutes of your time per day? Would it be even better if I was not trying to sell you an online course or buy a seat at one of my seminars (not that I have one…yet)?

This product I am offering requires skills that are widely accessible to the general public and in this day and age, mostly free.

Let me introduce you to this crazy idea of reading.

Okay, sorry for the crappy sales pitch.

But I find it bizarre that we are living in an age where people are willing to spend thousands of dollars on coaching and seminars that are designed by people who are just good at sales and marketing.

I am no fortune teller, but I bet you could learn more by reading great books than you could from a self-proclaimed guru. And remember, anyone saying they can make you rich is just getting rich off you. Don’t be a sucker.

Every book you pick-up has the potential to change your life. I know, that’s a big call. But reading will cause you to change your mind, adopt new perspectives and abandon…

--

--

Michael Lim
The Open Bookshelf

I help 9-5 workers start a profitable one-person (online) writing business without quitting their jobs, so they can have more freedom, money and impact 🚀